Make the Most Out of Your Snow Day

For the past 24 years, I’ve lived in snowy places (the American Midwest, DC during a historic blizzard, Sweden) – at this point, anything under 7-10 inches is just an inconvenience. In my experience, unlike an individual snowflake, every snow storm is pretty similar. Below, I’ve included my fool-proof ways to make the most of your snow day.

1. Get the shoveling over with as soon as possible.

Ugh, I know – shoveling is the worst. However, it is exponentially worse early the next day so you can leave for week. Also, nothing is a better bonding experience than complaining about shoveling while you do it.

2. Start a movie marathon ASAP.

As we defrost from shoveling through the frozen wasteland, my family/friends thrive off of a quality movie lineup. Successful past movie marathon themes include: Starwars, Christmas movies, Oscar Nominees of Years Past, Movie Musicals, and Decent Romcoms.

3. Use this time to catch up on your reading list.

Personally, this is my favorite part of getting snowed in. Every year, I give myself lofty reading goals – next year’s is to read 52 books– so a proper snow day is a great opportunity to check one or two books off my list. I’ll release a list of some of my favorite soon.

4. Perfect your snow storm diet.

Another highlight is snow day food, especially the top-secret family chili recipe. Seriously, a hearty chili on a snowy day is dreamy. Maybe I’ll write a post with the recipe 🙂 Complete that with a proper hot cider with cinnamon and you will be in heaven, I promise you.

5. Dress appropriately.

There is a Swedish saying that there is no such thing as bad weather, just bad clothing – just another example of Nordic wisdom. If I’m outside and playing in the snow, I’ll layer running tights or leggings under a pair of jeans, wear 2-3 layers on my upper body under my coat, and rock a homemade hat from my grandma. Inside, I prefer wearing yoga pants, a large comfy sweatshirt, and long wool socks.

connor-cait-and-i-in-sweatshirt-and-grandmas-hats

(L to R) My cousin, my brother, and I demonstrating ideal blizzard attire

What do you do during a snow storm? Did I miss anything? Let me know in the comments below.

Leave a Reply

